Skip to content
Florence Baptistery

File:Baptistery,_Florence.jpg · Wikimedia Commons · See Wikimedia Commons

EntityQ732511· pop 40· linked from 353 articles

Florence Baptistery

Sign in to save

Also known as Baptistery of Saint John, Battistero di San Giovanni, Baptistery of San Giovanni, Baptistery of St. John, San Giovanni Baptistery, Battistero di San Giovanni (Florence, Italy), Florence Baptistery of St. John, Florence Baptistery of San Giovanni

baptistery in Florence, Italy

Key facts

Location
Florence , Tuscany
Country
Italy
Denomination
Catholic Church
Website
Florence Baptistery
Status
baptistery , minor basilica
Dedication
Saint John the Baptist
Style
Romanesque
Groundbreaking
11th century
Length
37.0 m (121.4 ft)
Width
32.5 m (107 ft)
Height
39 m (128 ft)
Materials
Marble , serpentinite , sandstone
Archdiocese
Archdiocese of Florence
Archbishop
Gherardo Gambelli
Type
Cultural
Criteria
i, ii, iii, iv, vi
Designated
1982 (6th session )
Part of
Historic Centre of Florence

via Wikipedia infobox

Described at

Baptistery of San Giovanni | Opera Duomo, Florence

The Baptistery of San Giovanni, one of the most ancient churches in Florence, sits opposite the city's cathedral: the church of Santa Maria del Fiore.

duomo.firenze.it

Visitors are advised that the Baptistery is undergoing restoration of the mosaics of the vault, which are not visible . A splendid mosaic decoration, made in the 13th-14th centuries, covers the entire vault, the apse, parts of the matroneum, its parapets and parts of the walls. These mosaics were begun by artists of the Byzantine school, then continued and completed by great Tuscan masters of the 13th and 14th centuries, including Cimabue, Coppo of Marcovaldo, Meliore . The three western sections of the vault mosaics are dominated by an enormous figure of Christ the Judge between the Paradise of the blessed and Hell of the damned . The horizontal registers of the five remaining vault segments show the Angelic hierarchies , the Stories of Genesis , those of the Patriarch Joseph , those of Christ and Mary and those of St John the Baptist . The magnificent marble “carpets” of the floor are by Tuscan artists of the early 1200s, and are inspired by the Middle Eastern textiles traded by the Merchants Guild. The interior is further enhanced by Gothic liturgical furnishings and Roman and medieval sepulchres; these include the monument to Cardinal Baldassarre Coscia, a Renaissance masterpiece by Donatello and Michelozzo. The three entryways were adorned with beautiful bronze doors, whose originals are now preserved in the museum: the south pair, moulded with episodes of the Life of the Baptist , were made between 1330 and 1336 by Andrea Pisano; the north doors, with Stories of Christ , by Lorenzo Ghiberti, 1403-1424; and the eastern pair, renamed the Gates of Paradise , the paramount and now fully renaissance masterpiece of Ghiberti, are ornamented with 10 stories from the Old Testament. Other important works of art once displayed inside and outside the baptistery are now preserved in the Museum of the Opera del Duomo, among these: the Penitent Mary Magdalene by Donatello, sculpted in wood; the Pollaiolo Silver Cross and the Silver Altar ; the embroideries of the St John liturgical vestments; a statuary group by Rustici, Sansovino and Danti, as well as the bronze doors already mentioned. To find out the projects prepared by the Opera del Duomo, visit the page Project for accessibility .

Excerpt from a page describing this subject · 5,913 chars · not written by Vinony

~40 min read

Encyclopedic overview

The Florence Baptistery, also known as the Baptistery of Saint John (Italian: Battistero di San Giovanni), is a religious building in Florence, Italy. Dedicated to the patron saint of the city, John the Baptist, it has been a focus of religious, civic, and artistic life since its completion. The octagonal baptistery stands in both the Piazza del Duomo and the Piazza San Giovanni, between Florence Cathedral and the Archbishop's Palace.

Florentine infants were originally baptized in large groups on Holy Saturday and Pentecost in a five-basin baptismal font located at the center of the building. Over the course of the 13th century, individual baptisms soon after birth became common, so less apparatus was necessary. Around 1370 a small font was commissioned, which is still in use today. The original font, disused, was dismantled in 1577 by Francesco I de' Medici to make room for grand-ducal celebrations, an act deplored by Florentines at the time.

Excerpted from Wikipedia’s “Florence Baptistery” article, available under the CC BY-SA 4.0 licence.

Gallery (12)

On the map