Skip to content
Piccadilly line

File:1973ts_trains_at_Rayners_Lane.jpg · Wikimedia Commons · See Wikimedia Commons

EntityQ207689· pop 43· linked from 983 articles

Piccadilly line

Sign in to save

London Underground line

Key facts

Termini
Cockfosters Uxbridge Heathrow Airport
Colour on map
Dark blue
Website
tfl .gov .uk /tube /route /piccadilly /
Type
Rapid transit
System
London Underground
Depot s
Cockfosters Northfields
Rolling stock
1973 Stock
Ridership
217.995 million (2019) passenger journeys
Opened
15 December 1906 ; 119 years ago ( 1906-12-15 )
Last extension
27 March 2008
Line length
45.96 mi (73.97 km)
Character
Deep-level tube
Track gauge
1,435 mm ( 4 ft 8 + 1 ⁄ 2 in ) standard gauge
Electrification
Fourth rail , 630 V DC
Operating speed
40–50 mph (64–80 km/h)

via Wikipedia infobox

Described at

CULG - Piccadilly Line

davros.org

The original Piccadilly Line - from Finsbury Park to Hammersmith - was formed by merging three separate proposals. From east to west, these were: The Great Northern & Strand Railway, from Wood Green to Aldwych, located underneath the GNR main line between Wood Green and King's Cross. The Brompton & Piccadilly Circus Railway, from Air Street (near Piccadilly Circus) to a point near South Kensington. The Deep Level District, a proposal by the Metropolitan District Railway to build an express tube under its line from just east of Earl's Court to Mansion House, with an intermediate station at Embankment; electric locos would take over the trains from steam ones at Earl's Court. The District purchased the B&PCR in 1898. In 1901 the Yerkes Group took over all three companies before any construction had been started and combined the three proposals into the Great Northern, Piccadilly & Brompton Railway (though in day-to-day use this was quickly abbreviated to the Piccadilly Railway or the Piccadilly Tube). The B&PCR route had already been altered by the District at the west end so as to meet the DLD at South Kensington (with a sharp curve), and was now altered at the east end to meet the GN&SR at Holborn. The planned DLD route was extended in the west to emerge at Barons Court and was abandoned east of South Kensington once it became clear that the Piccadilly combined with an electrified District could handle the traffic. In the eastbound direction the junction was at the east end of the platform and the wider tunnel at this point is still visible. In the westbound direction a separate DLD platform tunnel was built with the junction just west of the station. This tunnel was never used in passenger service. During World War I it was used to store art from the Victoria & Albert Museum and china from Buckingham Palace. From 1927 to 1939 it was used as a signalling school and was also fitted out with track for teaching trainee drivers. In World War II it contained equipment to detect bombs falling in the Thames. Finally, when the station was converted from lifts to escalators in 1971-4, the tunnel became part of the passageways to the Piccadilly Line platform. Also in the 1930s, the District Line was suffering congestion on its city section, which was being fed from the west by no less than 5 branches plus the Circle. Therefore the Piccadilly was extended over two of these (to Hounslow and to Uxbridge), giving a second outlet for the traffic. (Note that, although the dates of this extension are as shown below, from 1932-02-08 the new Piccadilly Line stock being delivered started running on local services between Acton Town - or possibly South Acton - and both Hounslow and South Harrow.) The original layout between the tube mouths (at Barons Court) and Hammersmith had the Piccadilly tracks on the north side of the District; both this section and the tracks westwards to Acton Town were now rearranged, with the Piccadilly Line running between the District tracks. West of Acton Town, the District continued to serve the Hounslow branch until 1964, but on the line to Uxbridge the District service was immediately completely replaced by the Piccadilly as far as South Harrow and later - after the formation of London Transport - the rest of the way (the original powers to run beyond South Harrow applied explicitly to the MDR, and the Yerkes group were unwilling to take the legal risk of running any other trains that way). During World War II, the closed station at Down Street was converted into the headquarters of the Railway Executive - the body that controlled all railways during and immediately after the war. Walls were built along the platform edges, and the resulting space was converted to offices. Access was normally from the surface, but trains could also be stopped to allow people in and out of the driver's cab. Brompton Road was also converted and used for London Anti-Aircraft Control; later it was a Territorial Army training centre a

Excerpt from a page describing this subject · 40,000 chars · not written by Vinony

~40 min read

Encyclopedic overview

The Piccadilly line is a deep-level London Underground line which runs between the west and the north of London with 53 stations on the line. The line serves Heathrow Airport, and some of its stations are near tourist attractions in Central London such as King's Cross, Piccadilly Circus and Buckingham Palace. It has two western branches which split at Acton Town, with the main one towards Heathrow Airport terminals and the other northern branch towards Uxbridge. The District and Metropolitan lines share some sections of track with the Piccadilly line. The line is printed in dark blue (officially "Corporate Blue", Pantone 072) on the Tube map. It is the sixth-busiest line on the Underground network, with nearly 218 million passenger journeys in 2019.

The first section, between Finsbury Park and Hammersmith, was opened in 1906 as the Great Northern, Piccadilly and Brompton Railway (GNP&BR). The station tunnels and buildings were designed by Leslie Green, featuring ox-blood terracotta facades with semi-circular windows on the first floor. When Underground Electric Railways of London (UERL) took over the line, it was renamed the Piccadilly line. Subsequent extensions were made to Cockfosters, Hounslow West and Uxbridge in the early 1930s, when many existing stations on the Uxbridge and Hounslow branches were rebuilt to designs by Charles Holden of the Adams, Holden & Pearson architectural practice. These were generally rectangular, with brick bases and large tiled windows, topped with a concrete slab roof. The western extensions took over certain existing District line services, which were fully withdrawn in 1964.

Excerpted from Wikipedia’s “Piccadilly line” article, available under the CC BY-SA 4.0 licence.

Gallery (12)

On the map

55 mapped locations