Skip to content
EntityQ930852· pop 32· linked from 79 articles

Pielavesi () is a municipality of Finland. It is part of the North Savo region. The municipality has a population of () and covers an area of of which is water. The population density is . The municipality is unilingually Finnish.

Key facts

Settlement.name
Pielavesi
Settlement.settlement_type
Municipality
Settlement.image_skyline
The birthplace Lepikon Torppa of the finnish president Urho Kekkonen.jpg
Settlement.image_caption
Lepikon Torppa, the birthplace of Urho Kekkonen
Settlement.image_shield
Pielavesi.vaakuna.svg
Settlement.shield_size
120x80px
Settlement.image_map
Pielavesi sijainti Suomi.svg
Settlement.map_caption
Location of Pielavesi in Finland
Settlement.subdivision_type
Country
Settlement.subdivision_type1
Region
Settlement.subdivision_name1
North Savo
Settlement.subdivision_type2
Sub-region
Settlement.subdivision_name2
Upper Savo
Settlement.leader_title
Municipal manager
Settlement.leader_name
Sami Miettinen (since 2010)
Settlement.timezone
EET
Settlement.utc_offset
+02:00
Settlement.timezone_DST
EEST

via Wikipedia infobox

~1 min read

Encyclopedic overview

4 sections
Contents
  • Geography
  • Notable people
  • References
  • External links

Pielavesi () is a municipality of Finland. It is part of the North Savo region. The municipality has a population of () and covers an area of of which is water. The population density is . The municipality is unilingually Finnish.

The birchbark horns in the coat of arms are reminiscent of the times when they were used for signaling in a settlement that spread over large forest areas. They were also used to scare forest predators away from cattle while they were grazing in forest pastures. The golden trefoil crosses refers to the parts of three old church parishes that formed the Pielavesi parish. The coat of arms was designed by Ahti Hammar and Niilo Toikkanen, and was approved by the Pielavesi Municipal Council on July 26 and December 15, 1953. The Ministry of the Interior confirmed the coat of arms for use on January 23, 1954.

Excerpted from Wikipedia’s “Pielavesi” article, available under the CC BY-SA 4.0 licence.

On the map

3 mapped locations