English
Viljoensdrif
Sign in to saveViljoensdrif is a coal-mining village 8 km south of Vereeniging and part of the Fezile Dabi District Municipality in the Free State province of South Africa.
~1 min read
Encyclopedic overview
1 sectionsContents
- References
Viljoensdrif is a coal-mining village 8 km south of Vereeniging and part of the Fezile Dabi District Municipality in the Free State province of South Africa.
It takes its name from ford (Afrikaans drif) which was closed to ox-wagons by President Paul Kruger in 1895 to prevent goods reaching the Witwatersrand, thus forcing people to use the Netherlands-South African Railway Company (NZASM)'s Pretoria-Delagoa Bay railroad. Named after the owner of the place, J H Viljoen, who established a ferry in 1857.
Excerpted from Wikipedia’s “Viljoensdrif” article, available under the CC BY-SA 4.0 licence.
On the map
2 mapped locations
Available in 7 languages
via Wikidata sitelinks · CC0