Wiesendangen
Sign in to saveAlso known as Wiesendangen ZH
Wiesendangen is a municipality in the district of Winterthur in the canton of Zürich in Switzerland. On 1 January 2014 the former municipality of Bertschikon merged into the municipality of Wiesendangen. At the same time the Community Identification Number changed from 0229 to 0298.
Key facts
- Swiss town.subject_name
- Wiesendangen
- Swiss town.municipality_type
- municipality
- Swiss town.image_photo
- Wiesendangen - Dorfstrasse 2011-09-12 13-39-24.jpg
- Swiss town.imagepath_coa
- CHE Wiesendangen COA.svg
- Swiss town.imagepath_flag
- CHE Wiesendangen Flag.svg
- Swiss town.canton
- Zürich
- Swiss town.iso code region
- CH-ZH
- Swiss town.district
- Winterthur
- Swiss town.postal_code
- 8542
- Swiss town.municipality_code
- 0298
- Swiss town.area
- 19.16
- Swiss town.elevation
- 469
- Swiss town.population
- 5977
- Swiss town.populationof
- Dec 2011
- Swiss town.website
- www.wiesendangen.ch
- Swiss town.mayor
- Kurt Roth
- Swiss town.mayor_asof
- 2007
- Swiss town.mayor_party
- FDP
via Wikipedia infobox
Official website
Wiesendangen
Auf dieser Seite finden Sie alles Wissenswerte zu unserer Gemeinde. Ausserdem können Sie am Online Schalter Dienstleistungen in Anspruch nehmen.
wiesendangen.ch →Link to the official site · 6,235 chars · not written by Vinony
~7 min read
Encyclopedic overview
6 sectionsContents
- History
- Geography
- Demographics
- Transport
- References
- External links
Wiesendangen is a municipality in the district of Winterthur in the canton of Zürich in Switzerland. On 1 January 2014 the former municipality of Bertschikon merged into the municipality of Wiesendangen. At the same time the Community Identification Number changed from 0229 to 0298.
==History== thumb|Aerial view by Walter Mittelholzer (1934) Wiesendangen municipality (as of 2014) includes the former villages, hamlets or municipalities of: Wiesendangen, Attikon, Wallikon, Menzengrüt, Buch, Bertschikon, Gundetswil, Kefikon, Liebensberg, Stegen, Gündlikon and Zünikon. It is located on the site of Roman estates built in the 2nd and 3rd centuries along the road between Oberwinterthur and Pfyn. The area was acquired by St. Gallen Abbey in 804. Wiesendangen is first mentioned in this context, as Wisuntwangas ("wisent pasture"). Bertschikon is first mentioned in 1255 as Bersinkon. The village of Gündlikon may be mentioned in 774 as Cundilinchova though the identification is doubtful; it is mentioned in 1162 as Gundilinchova.
Excerpted from Wikipedia’s “Wiesendangen” article, available under the CC BY-SA 4.0 licence.
On the map
2 mapped locations