Skip to content
Wotton-under-Edge
EntityQ29471· pop 22· linked from 229 articles

Wotton-under-Edge

Sign in to save

Also known as Wotton-under-Edge, Gloucestershire

Wotton-under-Edge is a market town and civil parish in the Stroud district of Gloucestershire, England. Near the southern fringe of the Cotswolds, the Cotswold Way long-distance footpath passes through the town.

Key facts

UK place.static_image_name
St MaryTheVirginChurchWootton-under-Edge.jpg
UK place.static_image_caption
St Mary the Virgin, Wotton-under-Edge
UK place.country
England
UK place.official_name
Wotton-under-Edge
UK place.population
5,632
UK place.population_ref
(2021 Census)
UK place.shire_district
Stroud
UK place.shire_county
Gloucestershire
UK place.post_town
WOTTON-UNDER-EDGE
UK place.postcode_district
GL12
UK place.postcode_area
GL
UK place.dial_code
01453
UK place.region
South West England
UK place.os_grid_reference
ST758933
UK place.constituency_westminster
Stroud

via Wikipedia infobox

~8 min read

Encyclopedic overview

13 sections
Contents
  • History
  • Governance
  • Facilities
  • Media
  • Transport
  • Road
  • Rail
  • Bus
  • Hiking routes
  • Notable people
  • Further reading
  • References
  • External links

Wotton-under-Edge is a market town and civil parish in the Stroud district of Gloucestershire, England. Near the southern fringe of the Cotswolds, the Cotswold Way long-distance footpath passes through the town.

== History == thumb|left|Wotton-under-Edge Town Hall The first record of the town is in an Anglo-Saxon Royal Charter of King Edmund I, who in AD 940 leased four hides of land in Wudetun to Eadric. The name Wudetun means the enclosure, homestead or village (tun) in or near the wood (wude). The "Edge" refers to the limestone escarpment of the Cotswold Edge which includes the hills of Wotton Hill and Tor Hill that flank the town. In the 1086 Domesday Book listing, Wotton was in the hundred of Dudstone. Kingswood Abbey was founded in 1139, but all that remains is a 16th-century Cistercian gatehouse. Nearby historical buildings include the Tudor houses of Newark Park and Owlpen Manor, both open to the public at set times. The medieval former public house The Ancient Ram Inn dates back to 1145. The original town was burnt down during the reign of King John (1199–1216); it was rebuilt in 1252 and a charter granted to Johanna de Berkeley authorising her to hold a market and a three-day annual fair on the Feast of the Cross. In 1272 the inhabitants of the borough were authorised to elect one of their members as a Mayor, a practice that continued every year until 1886.

Excerpted from Wikipedia’s “Wotton-under-Edge” article, available under the CC BY-SA 4.0 licence.

Gallery (4)

On the map

3 mapped locations